Civil Engineering
at Kansas State University

Copyright © 2005 Civil Engineering at Kansas State University

Civil Engineering at Kansas State University

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Alok_Bhandari Alok Bhandari
Professor and Head
2118 Fiedler Hall
785.532.5862
bhandari@ksu.edu

Water quality

Water and wastewater treatment

Soil and groundwater remediation

Contaminate fate and transport

sunanda Sunanda Dissanayake
Associate Professor
2128 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1540
sunanda@ksu.edu

Traffic engineering and highway safety

Traffic control systems

Special population groups

Modeling and simulation of transport systems

Access management

Computer applications in transportation engineering

Asad Esmaeily Asad Esmaeily
Associate Professor
2112 Fiedler Hall
785.532.6063
asad@ksu.edu

Seismic behavior of bridges under various loading conditions

Analytical methods/ models in civil engineering (experimental calibration)

Non-destructive tests of existing structures

Performance-based design concepts

Active and passive control of structures

Remote sensing technology in civil engineering

Mustaque Hossain
Professor & Associate Director, Mid-America Transportation Center
2124 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1576
mustak@ksu.edu

Pavement design evaluation

Pavement performance and management

Nondestructive testing of pavements

Highway materials

Soil stabilization

melhem Hani G. Melhem
Professor & Director of Undergraduate Program
2127 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1584
melhem@ksu.edu

Accelerated pavement testing

Computer controlled testing of structures

Artificial intelligence and information systems

Non-destructive evaluation of structures

Finite elements and numerical modeling

Alex Mathews
Alexander P. Mathews
Professor
2131 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1582
alex@ksu.edu

Physicochemical processes

Water, wastewater, sludges and hazardous waste treatment

Bioprocessing for resources recovery

Sorption effects on sub-surface contaminant transport

In-situ remediation of soils and groundwater

Jacob Najjar Jacob M. Najjar
Professor
2111 Fiedler Hall
785.532.5863
ea4146@ksu.edu

Neural networks

Pavement performance and transportation engineering systems

Geosynthetics and geoenvironmental systems

Computational mechanics and geomechanics

Soil-structure interaction and underground excavations

Dunja Peric Dunja Peric
Associate Professor
2108 Fiedler Hall
785.532.2468
peric@ksu.edu

Experimental and numerical modeling of localized deformation and failure

       in geo-materials

Analysis and development of innovative fiber reinforcement systems

       and materials

Integral bridges and other sustainable bridge systems

Characterization of asphalt interfaces subjected to static and dynamic

       loading

Experimental and Numerical Modeling of low cycle fatigue in soils

Robert Peterman Robert J. Peterman
Professor
2113 Fiedler Hall
785.532.7612
bob@ksu.edu

Behavior and analysis of concrete and prestressed concrete structures

Experimental testing of structural components

Durability of bridge decks

Time-dependent deformations in structures

Hayder Rasheed Hayder A. Rasheed
Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Program
2126 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1589
hayder@ksu.edu

Behavior of fiber-reinforced composite materials and structures

Stability and buckling of structural components

Nonlinear finite element analysis of structures

Nonlinear constitutive modeling of structural materials

Repair and strengthening of structures

Kyle Riding Kyle Riding
Assistant Professor
2107 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1578
riding@ksu.edu

Design of Concrete Members

Concrete Production

Concrete Materials Test Methods and Specifications

Early Age Concrete Structural Behavior

Concrete Durability

Cementitious System Hydration and Microstructure

Steven Starrett
Steven K. Starrett
Associate Professor
2132 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1583
steveks@ksu.edu

Surface water hydrology

Urban non-point-source pollution

Artificial neural networks

Engineering ethics

David Steward
David R. Steward
Professor
2129 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1585
steward@ksu.edu

Mathematical and computer modeling of groundwater flow

Application of GIS geospatial technology to water resources

Integrated modeling approaches to understand the response of natural/social systems to human/climate-induced changes in groundwater use and availability

Bobb Stokes

Robert W. Stokes
Professor & Director of University Transportation Center (UTC)
2123 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1595
drbobb@ksu.edu

Planning and design of urban, rural and intercity transportation systems

Highway design, planning and operations

Design, planning and operation of turning lanes

Transit planning, design and operations

 

Staff

Administrative, Teaching and Research Staff

danita deters

Danita Deters

Sr Administrative Asst
2118 Fiedler Hall
785.532.5862
danita@ksu.edu

sue gerth

Susan Gerth
Instructor

231 Seaton Hall
785.532.3583
sgerth@ksu.edu

Peggy Selvidge

Peggy J. Selvidge

Administrative Officer
2118 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1570
selvidg@ksu.edu

AJ Ribas

AJ Ribas

Instructor

232 Seaton Hall
785.532.3558
ribasaj@ksu.edu

Debi Wahl

Debi Wahl

Accountant I
2118 Fiedler Hall
785.532.1571
dwahl@ksu.edu

 

 

Ryan

Ryan Benteman
Research Technologist
73A Fiedler Hall
785.532.1587
benteman@ksu.edu

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Philip Kirmser

Professor Emeritus

2147A Fiedler Hall

785.532.1579

kirmser@ksu.edu

Eugene R. Russell

Professor Emeritus

2133 Fiedler Hall

785.532.1588

geno@ksu.edu